• 06/27/2019
  • 09:04 PM
League Online News


As garbage disposal remains to be a major problem, not only for Cebu, but also for the entire country, the Cebu Provincial Government distributed shredders to 19 local government units (LGUs) to help them reduce the volume of wastes in their areas.

Gov. Hilario P. Davide III led the distribution of shredders worth P8.9 million to 18 municipalities and one city, including the towns of Asturias, Bantayan, Ronda, Boljoon, Borbon, Cordova, Ginatillan, Madridejos, Pillar, Pinamungajan, Poro, San Francisco, San Remigio, Santa Fe, Sogod, Tabuelan, Alegria, Tudela and Bogo City on March 25, 2019.

“I hope these machines will help your LGUs implement your solid waste management program,” Davide said.

As a long-term solution to garbage woes, the Province will open a sanitary landfill in Carmen town through a public-private-partnership agreement with the resolution of the project contract just waiting approval by the Provincial Board.

The Carmen dumpsite is expected to solve the lack of a sanitary landfill for northern towns as required by the Solid Waste Management Act.

Since the Capitol has yet to find an area for a sanitary landfill in the south, the Province allocated P40 million for garbage machines and equipment, which will be used by southern towns. These pieces of equipment are expected to be delivered within the next 60 days.

Aside from shredders, the Provincial Government also funded the construction of material recovery facilities in the 51 LGUs amounting to P28 million.

Rodel Bontuyan, officer-in-charge of the Provincial Environment and Natural Resources Office (Penro), said that five more units will arrive soon.

“Those municipalities and component cities of which their 10-year Solid Waste Management Plan get approval first by the National Solid Waste Management Board are given priority to receive the shredders,” Bontuyan said.

The short ceremony at the Capitol compound was graced by the mayors and vice mayors, as well as representatives of the recipient LGUs. These local officials include Mayor Aly Arquillano of San Francisco, Mayor Merlou Derama of Boljoon, Mayor Erwin Yu and Vice Mayor Greman Solante of Tudela, Mayor Verna Magallon of Alegria and Vice Mayor Richard Streegan of Sogod. (PIO)

Get the latest local government news daily from the most trusted sources. Be on the loop with current events happening in Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao and Metro Manila.