• 04/25/2019
  • 08:33 PM
League Online News


The Commission on Higher Education (CHEd) is set to issue an order prohibiting state universities and colleges (SUCs) from charging students with miscellaneous fees, a report by The Manila Times said.

CHEd Chairman Prospero de Vera adhered to the issuance of a memorandum clarifying and warn SUCs that students “should not pay a single centavo” to enroll in any SUC, LUC (local university and college) or technical-vocational institute run by Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (Tesda).

De Vera made such a move after Senator Paolo Benigno “Bam” Aquino 4th prodded the agency during a budget deliberation.

The legislator expressed concern over certain reports that some state educational institutions continue collecting additional fees.

“Under our law, SUCs are prohibited from collecting mandatory fees. We must fight for 100 percent compliance of the law. In our rounds of SUCs, we learned that there were some of them who plan to collect miscellaneous fees,” said Aquino.

He cited Republic Act 10931 or the Universal Access to Quality Tertiary Education Act, a law penned by him stating that SUCs are banned from collecting additional charges from students.

Aquino also called for expanding the scope of the free college law to include on-the-job training, affiliation fees for nursing students, and other Related Learning Experiences (RLEs).

He also pressed for better support for these state-run institutions through additional plantilla position for non-teaching personnel, including security personnel, registrar, guidance counselors, and resident ombudsman.

In response, the Department of Budget and Management (DBM) pledged to earmark money for this initiative.

SUCs could start hiring more non-teaching personnel next year once the agency provided its recommendation, Aquino said.


Photo from the Commission on Higher Education/Inquirer

Get the latest local government news daily from the most trusted sources. Be on the loop with current events happening in Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao and Metro Manila