League Online News


MANILA – More than 1.8 million people from seven areas in Mindanao participated in the first Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL) plebiscite, the Commission on Elections (Comelec) said Friday.

According to Comelec spokesperson James Jimenez, a total of 1,844,873 out of 2,167,244 registered voters cast their votes in Monday's plebiscite, which translates to a voter turnout of 85.13 percent.

He added that the highest individual voter turnouts were recorded in Maguindanao and Lanao del Sur with 93.35 percent and 92.56 percent, respectively.

Basilan had 81.98 percent while Sulu recorded 80.28 percent.

Tawi-Tawi had the lowest voter turnout among the provinces of the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM), at 77.17 percent.

The cities of Cotabato and Isabela have tallied 54.22 percent and 58.70 percent, respectively.

On Monday, the Comelec conducted the plebiscite for the ratification of the BOL that will create the Bangsamoro ARMM.

Meanwhile, the second BOL plebiscite will be held in the province of Lanao del Norte, except Iligan City; the municipalities of Aleosan, Carmen, Kabacan, Midsayap, Pikit, and Pigkawayan in the province of North Cotabato and the 28 barangays that sought to be included in the region. (PNA)

Photo by Jonathan Cellona/ABS-CBN News

Get the latest local government news daily from the most trusted sources. Be on the loop with current events happening in Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao and Metro Manila