• 04/19/2019
  • 07:13 PM
League Online News


TOP WINNER. The province of Basilan emerges as grand prize winner during the culmination and awarding of prizes for Pakaradjaan 2018 on Wednesday night (Dec. 19) at Shariff Kabunsuan Complex in Cotabato City. (Photo courtesy of BPI-ARMM)

COTABATO CITY — Cultural performances capped Wednesday’s culmination of Pakaradjaan 2018, the month-long revelry to celebrate the founding anniversary of the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM).

The Pakaradjaan performances were led by top country singers Bayang Barrios, Cookie Chua, and regional cultural troupes performing songs and cultural dances from various tribes of the region.

ARMM Gov. Mujiv Hataman led the awarding of the trophies and cash prizes to the winners of various contests that began in March this year.

Top winners include the province of Basilan as first place winner in the grandest cultural mock village competition ever held in the region. The province of Lanao del Sur won second place, followed by Maguindanao (third place), Sulu (fourth place), and Tawi-Tawi (fifth place). 

ARMM officials also earlier competed in a cooking contest with lawyer Rasol Mitmug, Jr., Lanao del Sur tribal chieftain and concurrent Department of Education-ARMM secretary, emerging as the winner.

Other tribal chieftain cooking contest winners are lawyer Laisa Masuhud Alamia, the ARMM executive secretary representing Basilan; Don Mustapha Loong (Sulu); Kahal Kedtag (Maguindanao); and Dayang Carlsum Jumaide (Tawi-Tawi.

In the food festival category, Maguindanao topped the ARMM provinces, with Lanao del Sur, Basilan, Sulu, and Tawi-Tawi trailing behind, respectively.

In the miniature mosque around the world competition, the Technical Education and Skills Development Authority-ARMM (The Great Mosque of Djenne in Mali) got first place; Office on Bangsamoro Youth Affairs-ARMM (Grozny Kadyrov Mosque in Russia) — second place; and the Department of Tourism-ARMM (Jami Ul-Alfar Mosque in Sri Lanka) landed on the third spot.

The essay writing competition winners are Juwairiyah Bint Emran Mohamad (first); Sittie Ayeesha Dicali (second); and Aleah-Hidaya Hadji Rakhim (third). Consolation prize winners included Nor-anisha Schaharazhed Guro, Lureva Lailanie Razuman, Omera Asya Datumulok Radia, Bycel Cates Papolonias, and Yarah Alamsahi Musa.

Event keynote speaker Frank Rivera — a playwright, actor, and production designer — said he got emotional as he listened to ARMM Governor Mujiv Hataman’s ‘Ulat sa Bayan’ delivered on Wednesday morning.

“I was teary-eyed as the Moro’s pride, dignity, art, and culture are very much alive in this place. You never departed from it,” he said.

Movie actor Robin Padilla, also a peace advocate, and Anak Mindanao Executive Director Sitti Djalia Turabin Hataman were also present in the culmination rites.

This year’s celebration is anchored on the theme: “The ARMM Legacy: Exemplifying Good Governance in the Bangsamoro.” (PNA)

Get the latest local government news daily from the most trusted sources. Be on the loop with current events happening in Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao and Metro Manila