• 06/25/2019
  • 03:43 PM
League Online News


CHAMPIONS. The Under 13 booters of Dynamic FC, champions of the Negros Occidental Football Association Cup 2019, with NOFA  president Ricardo Yanson Jr. (left), tournament chairperson Angelica Jochico (2nd row, right), and PFF Youth Development head Reiji Hirata during the awards ceremony on Sunday. The host team defeated LGU Barotac Nuevo of Iloilo, 5-nil, to win this year’s title. (Photo courtesy of Archie Rey Alipalo)

BACOLOD CITY -- Host Dynamic FC trounced LGU Barotac Nuevo of Iloilo, 5-nil, to claim the Negros Occidental Football Association (NOFA) Cup 2019 title during the finals held at the Sta. Maria Football Field in Talisay City on Sunday afternoon.

The Negrense Under -13 boys squad, coached by Ronald Allan Treyes, dominated the Barotacnons with a hat trick from eventual Most Valuable Player Rey Allen Rico, and a goal apiece from Frankie Felia and Elijah Raj Pabalate.

Dynamic FC was last year’s runner-up to One La Salle of Luzon. The 2018 champions, however, failed to defend their title in the nine A-side tournament after losing to Golden Harvest of Valencia City, Bukidnon in the quarterfinals.

En route to the championship, the host team defeated Loyola FC in the quarterfinals and Don Bosco Cebu in the semifinals.

Don Bosco beat Golden Harvest, 7-5, in a shootout to bring home the second runner-up trophy.

Other individual awardees were Dynamic FC’s Pabalate as Best Midfielder; Franz Liansing, Best Defender; and Anzbert Tayapad, Best Goalkeeper. John Gaverza of LGU Barotac Nuevo was named Best Striker.

In his closing message, NOFA president Ricardo Yanson Jr. expressed his appreciation to the 24 teams from Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao that participated in the fourth edition of the NOFA Cup, the country’s largest grassroots football competition.

“We hope to see you next year in a bigger, better NOFA Cup 2020,” he added.

Yanson was joined by NOFA Cup 2019 chairperson Angelica Jochico and Philippine Football Federation Youth Development head Reiji Hirata in giving out the awards.

This year’s event, which had eight teams from Luzon, 11 from Visayas, and five from Mindanao, drew the most number of participants since the invitational tournament started in 2015. (PNA)


Get the latest local government news daily from the most trusted sources. Be on the loop with current events happening in Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao and Metro Manila.