• 04/25/2019
  • 08:12 PM
League Online News


In its relentless effort to provide quality, safe, and environment-friendly public transport under the PUV Modernization Program, the Department of Transportation (DOTr), through the Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (LTFRB), launches the eSakay electric Jeepneys (eJeeps) plying the Makati-Mandaluyong route today, 18 January 2019.
DOTr Undersecretary for Legal Affairs Reinier Yebra, DOTr Undersecretary for Road Transport and Infrastructure Mark de Leon, and LTFRB Chairman Martin Delgra III are joined in the launch by Meralco Chairman of the Board Manuel Pangilinan, Meralco Senior Vice President and eSakay Chairman of the Board Alfredo Panlilio, Meralco Vice President and eSakay President Raymond Ravelo, Meralco Powergen President Rogelio Singson, Development Bank of the Philippines President and CEO Cecilia Borromeo, and other officials and personalities.
Fifteen (15) units of eJeeps are set to ply the route from Buendia MRT to Mandaluyong City Hall via Jupiter Street and back. 
These eJeeps are PUVMP-compliant, designed with a side entrance and has priority seats for senior citizens and PWD passengers. These units are also equipped with Wi-Fi, GPS, CCTV cameras, USB charging ports, and will utilize an automated fare collection system.
Photo by Ted Cordero/GMA News
Get the latest local government news daily from the most trusted sources. Be on the loop with current events happening in Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao and Metro Manila