• 05/21/2019
  • 05:42 PM
League Online News


MAKATI CITY – The Makati City government is to donate P22.7 million to some regions affected by the landfall of Typhoon Ompong (international name: Mangkhut).

The local government passed City Ordinance No. 2018-102 allocating the said amount to aid in the ongoing rehabilitation and recovery programs of 18 provinces and 34 cities and municipalities severely affected by the typhoon in September.

“We would like to help out fellow local government units with their efforts to recover from the severe damage inflicted by Ompong. We hope our donations can somehow alleviate the plight of the victims,” Makati City Mayor Abigail Binay said.

Under the local decree, the city council has earmarked P8.3 million for selected provinces in Regions I, II, III and the Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR). For 34 cities and municipalities in the said regions, the city has allotted P14.5 million.

The provinces of Abra, Apayao, Kalinga and Benguet in CAR will each receive P500,000.

In Region, I, provinces of Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union and Pangasinan will receive financial assistance amounting to P500,000 each from Makati City.

Cagayan and Isabela in Region II will get P500,000 each while Quirino and Nueva Vizcaya will each get P250,000.

For Region III, the local government will extend P500,000 financial aid to the provinces of Aurora, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Bulacan and Tarlac as well as P250,000 to Zambales.

Meanwhile, 34 cities and municipalities in the aforementioned regions are set to get financial assistance.

In Ilocos Norte, the local government units of Batac, Pagudpud and Paoay will get P250,000 each while Laoag City will receive P1 million.

In Ilocos Sur, P1 million will be given to Cabugao, and P500,000 each to Caoayan and Santa Lucia.

In La Union, P250,000 each will be given to Caba, Naguilian and Santol, while Agoo City will receive P1 million.

In Pangasinan, the localities of Aguilar, Alcala and Rosales will each receive P250,000; Mangatarem, P750,000; and Mangaldan, P1 million.

In Cagayan, the municipality of Gonzaga will receive P500,000; Tuguegarao City, P750,000; and Baggao, P1 million.

In Aurora, Disalag and Dingalan will each receive P250,000. The localities of Cabiao, Cuyapo, Guimba, and Licab will each receive P250,000, while P500,000 has been earmarked for Cabanatuan City.

In Pampanga, Masantol will receive P250,000. For affected localities in Abra, namely, Bangued, Bucay, Manabo, and Tayum, P250,000 each.

The localities of Kabugao in Apayao and Tublay in Benguet will receive P250,000 each while Pinukpok of Kalinga will get P500,000.

Under the rules for financial assistance to disaster-affected areas in the Philippines, adopted through City Ordinance No. 2017-006, the Makati Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (MDRRMC) approved up to P500,000 worth of financial assistance to affected provinces with at least 5,001 or higher number of affected families.

For those with at least 2,000 to 5,000 affected families, P250,000 will be given.

Get the latest local government news daily from the most trusted sources. Be on the loop with current events happening in Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao and Metro Manila