• 05/24/2019
  • 01:14 PM
League Online News


HILONGOS, LEYTE – The Maritime Industry Authority (MARINA) will open eight (8) RoRo missionary routes proposed by shipping operators in support of the Road Roll-on / Roll-off Terminal System (RRTS) and the priority program relating to the upgrading of the domestic shipping in support of the nautical highway development under the 10-year maritime industry development plan (MIDP).

At the latest Oversight Meeting of the House Committee on Transportation chaired by House Speaker Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, MARINA OIC Vice Admiral Narciso Vingson Jr presented the eight (8) industry-proposed RoRo missionary routes, in addition to the 19 newly-opened RoRo missionary routes in January 2019.

House Speaker Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo commended the MARINA of its effort to promote greater connectivity and economic interactions of the various islands of the archipelago.

The eight (8) industry-proposed RoRo missionary routes were the following:

1. Daanbantayan, Cebu to Calbayog City, Samar

2. Tabuelan, Cebu to Ajuy, Iloilo

3. Laoay, Bohol to Cagayan de Oro

4. San Juan, Batangas to Calapan, Oriental Mindoro

5. Iloilo City to Cuyo, Palawan

6. San Pascual, Burias Island, Masbate to Pasacao, Camarines Sur

7. San Andres, Quezon to Pasacao, Camarines Sur

8. Lucena, Quezon to San Fernando, Cebu

The MARINA will issue a letter approval that will give a proponent shipping operator four (4) months to start vessel operation on its proposed route, while processing the acquisition of its Certificates of Public Convenience (CPCs).

Upon granting of the CPC, the proponent shipping operator shall enjoy a five-year route protection or protection of investment, as well as 50% discount on the processing on the regular fees of all applications and renewal of ship documents, licenses, certificates, and permits.

In February 2019, seven (7) of the 19 newly-opened RoRo missionary routes were already applied for by shipping operators, signifying their interest to serve the unserved routes within the Philippine nautical highway.

The other 12 RoRo missionary routes that have been opened for prospective shipping operators include the following:

1. Basco, Batanes – Currimao, Ilocos Norte

2. San Juan, Batangas – Abra de Ilog, Occidental Mindoro

3. Real, Quezon – Polillo Island, Quezon

4. Lucena, Quezon - Buyabod, Marinduque

5. Pantao, Albay – San Pascual, Masbate

6. Calbayog City, Samar – Cataingan, Masbate

7. Cuyo, Palawan – San Jose de Buenavista, Antique

8. Oslob, Cebu – Dumaguete, Negros Oriental

9. Punta Engano, Mactan Island, Cebu – Jetafe, Bohol

10. Poro, Camotes, Cebu – Isabel, Leyte

11. Lipata, Surigao del Norte – Dapa, Surigao del Norte

12. Siaton, Negros Oriental – Dipolog City

Shipping companies are further encouraged to propose new missionary routes in addition to the existing list that can be developed.

Get the latest local government news daily from the most trusted sources. Be on the loop with current events happening in Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao and Metro Manila