• 07/17/2019
  • 01:01 PM
League Online News


Members of Duterte coalition Representatives Paolo Z. Duterte, Isidro Ungab, Vincent Garcia, Corazon Malanyaon, Manuel Zamora, Lorna Bautista, Claudine Bautista, Sandro Gonzales, Anton Lopez issued joint statement urging cabinet members not to participate in the selection of the Speaker.

It has come to the coalition's attention that certain Presidential Cabinet members have their bet for Speaker. The coalition reminded that everyone should note that, Cabinet members serve only on the basis of the trust and confidence of the President and should not participate in the selection of the Speaker.

The coalition reminded that President Rodrigo Duterte has repeatedly said he will not interfere in the race for the next Speaker of the House — noting that all candidates are his allies.

They stressed that Congressmen and Congresswomen are elected and serve a mandate with an authority direct from the people and that these lawmakers are the only rightful electorate for their leader.

As members of the House of Representatives, Hugpong ng Pagbabago and Hugpong sa Tawong Lungsod the coalition hope to unite the House.

The Duterte Coalition was created and wish to invite everyone to join this group of lawmakers who believe in positive change.

The Duterte Coalition is a strategic partnership of dynamic public servants who are committed to institute governance and development reforms that are necessary for the Philippines to secure its rightful place in the world stage of nations, particularly in the Southeast Asian region.

A special call to be a partner is also extended to Congressmen Ferdinand Martin Romualdez, Alan Peter Cayetano, and Lord Allan Jay Velasco. 

Get the latest local government news daily from the most trusted sources. Be on the loop with current events happening in Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao and Metro Manila.