• 07/20/2019
  • 11:46 PM
League Online News


MANILA -- The Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) on Friday announced the implementation of a 60-kilometer-per hour (kph) speed limit along major roads in Metro Manila.

MMDA Regulation No. 19-001 stated that a fine of PHP 1,000 will be imposed against violators of the speed limit.

“Said vehicular accidents cause needless loss of innocent lives and damage to property which necessitate the adoption of a speed limit for all motor vehicles except buses and trucks,” the MMDA regulation read which was published in newspapers.

The speed limit shall be enforced on circumferential roads, such as Recto Avenue, Pres. Quirino Avenue, Araneta Avenue, EDSA, CP Garcia Avenue and Southeast Metro Manila Expressway.

It will likewise be implemented on radial roads, which include Roxas Boulevard, Taft Avenue, South Luzon Expressway, Shaw Boulevard, Ortigas Avenue, Magsaysay Boulevard/Aurora Boulevard, Quezon Avenue/Commonwealth Avenue, A. Bonifacio Avenue, Rizal Avenue, Delpan/Marcos Highway/McArthur Highway.

Buses and trucks shall be exempted from the speed limit.

The MMDA has yet to set a definite date for its implementation as it still has to fully inform the public on the policy.

Get the latest local government news daily from the most trusted sources. Be on the loop with current events happening in Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao and Metro Manila.