• 05/19/2019
  • 09:00 PM
League Online News


The list of narco politicians has been released by President Rodrigo Duterte during the National and Regional Peace and Order Council meeting in Davao City. The list was composed of 46 local government officials who were allegedly connected to the illegal drug trade.

Duterte said the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) verified the list thus a case was filed in the Office of the Ombudsman against the politicians. Out of 46 narco politicians, 36 of them are mayors, 8 vice-mayors, 3 congressmen, 1 board member, and 1 former mayor.

The Chief Executive claimed he released the list for the welfare of the public as well as part of the change he promised he would fulfill starting from the campaign in 2016 national elections. Even though Duterte does not want to reveal the list due to hurting someone’s feeling; he admitted there is a possibility more names might be added in the list because some names are still in the verification process.

According to DILG, Philippine National Police (PNP), Philippine Drug Enforcement Agency (PDEA) and other government agencies confirmed the list Duterte exposed.

Get the latest local government news daily from the most trusted sources. Be on the loop with current events happening in Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao and Metro Manila