• 04/19/2019
  • 06:23 PM
League Online News


MANILA — Neil Etheridge will miss the Philippine Azkals’ first-ever appearance in the AFC Asian Cup next year.

The Cardiff goalkeeper is not listed in the 23-man roster submitted by the Philippine Football Federation for the tournament in the United Arab Emirates from Jan. 5-Feb. 1, 2019.

Michael Falkesgaard, who started at the poles for the remainder of the AFF Suzuki Cup after Etheridge was called back for Premier League duties, was listed to lineup, and Coach Sven-Goran Erikkson is expected to make the Bangkok United keeper as the Azkals’ primary netminder for the Asian Cup.

Kaya Iloilo’s Ace Villanueva and Horsens’ Kevin Hansen will join Falkesgaard in the goalkeeping rotation.

Meanwhile, a bevy of Ceres Negros players make up the national team pool to the Asian Cup.

Carlie De Murga, Mike and Manny Ott, Kevin Ingreso, Stephan Schrock, Patrick Reichelt, Curt Dizon, Paul Mulders, and newly-signed Miguel Tanton make up the representatives of the reigning Philippine Premier League champion to the Azkals.

Completing the roster are Kedah’s Alvaro Silva, Erzegebirge’s John Strauss, Suphanburi’s Luke Woodland, Sukhothai’s Iain Ramsay, Kaya Iloilo’s Jovin Bedic, Sepsi’s Daisuke Sato, Buriram’s Stephen Palla and Javi Patiño, and free agents Adam Tull and Phil and James Younghusband. (PNA)

Photo by Ashley Allen/Getty Images/Fox Sports Asia

Get the latest local government news daily from the most trusted sources. Be on the loop with current events happening in Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao and Metro Manila