• 05/19/2019
  • 10:24 PM
League Online News
Image

PBA CONFIRMS OFFICIATING ERROR IN PHOENIX-NORTHPORT GAME



MANILA — The Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) admitted that one of the designated referees for the Phoenix-NorthPort game made a wrong call when he slapped Sean Anthony with an offensive foul.

With the game tied, 96-all, with 47.8 seconds to go, Noy Guevarra called an offensive foul against Anthony after the latter appeared to have hit Justin Chua on the head while taking a three-point shot that actually went in.

However, in the review of the play that drew ire from the Batang Pier coaching staff, the PBA Technical Group confirmed that no foul was committed.

“It was an unfortunate mistake by the referee in calling the offensive foul and we regret the wrong call made,” the league said in a statement.

The PBA also said that Guevarra “shall be meted the appropriate sanction” following his error that greatly affected the game won by the Fuel Masters.

“Rest assured that the PBA Technical Group holds impartiality, transparency, fairness and integrity as prime values in officiating and with only what is best for the league and its fans in mind,” the statement read. (PNA)

Get the latest local government news daily from the most trusted sources. Be on the loop with current events happening in Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao and Metro Manila