• 06/27/2019
  • 02:56 PM
League Online News


Helena Indigne in action for the Lady Volcanoes Development (Photo courtesy of Philippine Rugby)

MANILA -- The Philippine Lady Volcanoes are all set for their first preparation tournament for the 2019 Southeast Asian Games as they compete in Borneo Sevens on March 23-24 in Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia.

Acee San Juan, one of the Lady Volcanoes, said they are relying on foreign exposure to aid their preparations as they aim for a podium finish in the SEA Games which the Philippines will host in December this year.

“The more competitions we play in. The better we are going to be prepared. Our domestic competitions are improving however international exposure allows our skills and abilities to be tested at the highest level,” San Juan said.

Backed by MVP Sports Foundation, Philippine Sports Commission and First Pacific, the Philippine national rugby team will also find fellow SEA nations competing in the event, as both Singapore and Malaysia have been listed as other competing nations.

“The Borneo Sevens is an international and invitational rugby tournament, where top teams throughout the world travel to compete. For both men’s and women’s, teams from Japan, Hong Kong, Australia, Russia and even Belgium compete in the tournament” Jake Letts of Philippine Rugby said.

The Lady Volcanoes have selected a Development 12, mainly players that have been training consistently with the national program over the last two months. All of them are in contention for selection for the SEA Games.

The team will be coached by Andy Brown, former Jamaican National Sevens Coach.

“Coach Andy brings a wealth of experience, so we are lucky to have his leadership for the national women’s program” Letts said.

The Lady Volcanoes face Pearls Japan, the Hong Kong Dragons, and Singapore Development in Pool A on March 23. The finals will be played on March 24.

Aside from Borneo Sevens, the Philippine Lady Volcanoes will also compete in the Asia Rugby Women’s Championships in June, the Trophy Series in August in Indonesia and another foreign exposure tour in November.

The 12 players selected for Lady Volcanoes development include: Kaia Briela Padilla Baui, Leonor Casinillo Boroy, Alyana Ysabel Siongco Del Fierro, Aldee Faith Lyde Pielago Denuyo, Kaye Llanie Perez Honoras, Helena Roxanne Aguilar Indigne, Ma. Isabella Angeles Baltazar Nepumuceno, Aiumi Villarba Ono, Rassiel Adonis Sales, Maricar Villamor Samson, Angella Camille San Juan, and Sylvia Selfaison Tudoc. 

Get the latest local government news daily from the most trusted sources. Be on the loop with current events happening in Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao and Metro Manila.