• 05/26/2019
  • 08:01 AM
League Online News


BATAAN TOWN POLL WINNERS. The Municipal Board of Canvassers proclaims re-electionist Mayor Liberato Santiago (7th from right), Vice Mayor Robin Tagle (5th from right), and eight Sangguniang Bayan members as winners in the recent elections in Abucay, Bataan on Wednesday (May 15, 2019). Winners in the provincial and congressional slates have not yet been proclaimed due to incomplete vote results. (Photo by Ernie Esconde)

SAMAL, Bataan -- The municipal winners in three out of 11 towns and one city in Bataan have so far been proclaimed as of Wednesday.

Named as official victors were Vice Mayor Aida Macalinao as mayor of Samal, Liberato Santiago as reelectionist mayor of Abucay, and Bagac mayor-elect Ramil del Rosario, father of incumbent mayor Louise Gabriel.

Of the three, Santiago ran unopposed.

The Municipal Board of Canvassers declared Macalinao and Santiago as official winners on Wednesday dawn while del Rosario was earlier proclaimed early morning of Tuesday.

The vice mayors and eight Sangguniang Bayan members of the three towns were also proclaimed.

The proclamation of winners in the nine towns and one city in Bataan was delayed due to defective secure digital (SD) cards that have to be reconfigured at the Commission of Elections regional office in the City of San Fernando, Pampanga.

No winner was proclaimed in the provincial and congressional slates as of Wednesday due to incomplete vote results.

A report from the Office of the Provincial Election Supervisor in Balanga City showed that 36 SD cards in the nine towns and one city were found defective and still need to be replaced. (PNA)


Get the latest local government news daily from the most trusted sources. Be on the loop with current events happening in Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao and Metro Manila