• 05/24/2019
  • 01:04 PM
League Online News


ZAMBOANGA CITY -- President Rodrigo Duterte has officially endorsed the local candidates of the Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban) here for the forthcoming May 13 elections.

Duterte made the endorsement shortly after midnight Monday when the grand rally of the PDP-Laban, held at the Mayor Vitaliano Agan Coliseum in Barangay Tetuan, ended.

The grand rally was attended not only by the local PDP-Laban slate but by the ruling party’s candidates from nearby provinces as the PDP-Laban senatorial slate barnstormed this city on Sunday.

The PDP-Laban local candidates are as follows: Rep. Celso Lobregat, mayor; lawyer Melchor Rey Sadain, vice-mayor; businessman Jomar Lobregat, first district representative; and, Lilia Nuño, second district representative.

The council slate in the first district includes Luis Biel; Councilor Marxander Jaime Cabato; Sinunuc Village chairperson Pilarica Ledesma; Councilor Rodolfo Lim; Councilor Joselito Macrohon; Ayala Barangay Councilor Khymer Olaso; Haj Sandag; and Rogelio Valesco.

In the second district, the candidates for councilors are Richard Mariano; Councilor Benjamin Guingona IV; Councilor Miguel Alavar III; Councilor Lilibeth Nuño-Belloso; Vincent Paul Elago; Marlon Simbajon; Culianan Barangay Councilor Mark Saavedra; and Lumayang Barangay Councilor Frederick Atilano.

Duterte described Lobregat as hardworking and meticulous in every issue being discussed. Both were members of the 11th Congress.

“He is almost to a pedantic level,” the President said, adding that Lobregat is a formidable candidate.

The PDP-Laban’s grand rally, the fourth to be held in the country, was attended by thousands of supporters of the party.

The first three PDP-Laban grand rallies were held in Bulacan, Laguna, and Cebu.

The PDL-Laban senatorial bets are Zajid Mangudadatu, Ronald dela Rosa, Christopher Lawrence “Bong” Go, Senator Aquilino Pimentel III, and Francis Tolentino.

The guest candidates, on the other hand, are Senators Cynthia Villar, Sonny Angara, JV Ejercito, Taguig Rep. Pia Cayetano, Ilocos Gov. Imee Marcos, singer Freddie Aguilar, and former DILG Sec. Rafael Alunan III. (PNA)

Get the latest local government news daily from the most trusted sources. Be on the loop with current events happening in Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao and Metro Manila