• 07/24/2019
  • 01:04 AM
League Online News


QUEZON CITY – Some members of the Quezon City council is seeking the immediate removal of all campaign materials attached to electric and cable wires in a move to ditch the label as the country’s poster capital, the Manila Bulletin reported.


The city’s Environment Protection and Waste Management Department (EPWMD) should be responsible for taking out political tarpaulins and advertising paraphernalia in the first, third, and fourth districts of the city.


The Department of Public Order and Safety (DPOS) and the Parks Development and Administrative Department, on the other hand, will take charge of the remaining districts.


Councilors Victor Ferrer Jr., Eufemio Lagumbay, Ranulfo Ludovica, Allan Francisco and Allan Benedict Reyes presented this proposal amid the tag on Quezon City as the nation’s poster capital.


The City Council said the Engineering Department can provide the necessary equipment and vehicles to undertake the operation.


Residents have repeatedly expressed their concern over all the propaganda materials commonly seen during the election season.


They demanded that immediate measures should be implemented to address the issue, such as imposing fines or jail terms for those violating the decree.


But a Commission on Elections (Comelec) official in Quezon City said new election laws should be enacted to decrease the workload of the local government units (LGU), the poll body and other concerned agencies in bringing down campaign posters.


“All the names of the national and local bets will be included in the publication. No candidate will be allowed to hang, post, or paste any form of political advertisement in any place,’’ the election official said.


“The ploy will hopefully discourage the supporters of any rogue candidate to place campaign materials of any political bet because of the penalty,’’ the Comelec personnel added.


Get the latest local government news daily from the most trusted sources. Be on the loop with current events happening in Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao and Metro Manila.