• 07/19/2019
  • 10:26 PM
League Online News


QUARTERFINALIST. Nina Sandejas prepares to hit the ball during the second round of the girls' 16-under category in the 30th Andrada Cup at the Rizal Memorial Tennis Center on Thursday (January 3, 2019). Sandejas won over Margaud Rosales, 6-0, 6-1. (PNA photo by Jess Escaros)

MANILA -- Fifth seed Nina Sandejas won over Margaud Rosales, 6-0, 6-1, to reach the quarterfinal round of the girls' 16-under category of the 2019 Andrada Cup at the Rizal Memorial Tennis Center on Thursday.

Sandejas, a Grade 9 student at Woodrose School in Alabang, will be up against Alexa Joy Milliam, who ousted third seed Justine Maneja, 6-4, 3-6, 13-11.

The 15-year-old Sandejas, the daughter of Olympic swimmer Christine Jacobs, also made it to the quarterfinals of the 18-under category. She scored a 6-1, 6-3 victory over Eliana Misa to set up a meeting with No. 4 Julia Ignacio, a 6-2, 6-1 winner over Jezzelle Tristen Romero.

Meanwhile, sixth seed Rupert Ohrelle Tortal rallied past Rainier Selmar, 4-6, 6-0, 10-2, to forge a second-round showdown with Gaby Avila in the boys' 18-under category. Avila survived Kirk Dion Agustin, 6-2, 2-6, 10-5.

Other matches saw No. 4 Miguel Castillo winning over Juan Miguel Lenon, 6-0, 6-2; No. 8 Jester Ocio beating Manuel Lazaro, 6-2, 6-0; Juan Pablo Gonzaga pulling off a 7-6 (4), 3-6, 10-7 victory over Steven Perido; John David Velez hacking out a 6-1, 3-6, 10-5 win over Marco Macalintal; and Stephen Paul Catipon prevailing over Renzo Castro, 6-2, 6-1.

In the boys' 16-under category, top seed Axl Lajon Jarata defeated Jeremiah Macias, 6-1, 6-0, to reach the third round. Also advancing were John David Velez, who stunned No. 6 Jester Ocio, 6-2, 6-3, and Exequiel Jucutan, who eliminated No. 13 Sean Andrei Bernardo, 6-1, 6-4.

Other winners were No. 3 Prince Luis Salvacion over Darwin Cosca Jr., 6-2, 6-1; No. 7 Edgardo Manuel Angara over Wilfredo Borgonia, 6-1, 6-1; No. 9 Mark Andrei Jarata over Brent So, 6-3, 6-0; No. 10 Marco Macalintal over Joewyn Rey Pascua, 7-6 (4), 6-1; No. 12 Lance Fernandez over Rainier Selmar, 6-1, 4-3 (ret); No. 14 Miguel Castillo over Hans Villespin, 6-3, 6-3; and Joshua Diva over Gaby Avila, 5-2 (ret).

In the boys' 14-under category, No. 7 Lukas Yupangco downed John Prince Lim, 7-5, 6-2, to arrange a second-round duel with Chad Connor Cuizon, a 6-2, 6-0 winner over Shaun Nicolo Salazar.

In other matches, No. 4 Darwin Cosca Jr. outplayed Kean Sebastian Enriquez, 6-1, 3-6, 10-5; No. 6 Prince Patrick Salvacion won over Sherwin Nuguit, 6-1, 3-0 (ret); No. 8 Joshua Diva clobbered Ralph Adrian Selmar, 6-0, 6-0; Samuel Salazar beat Miguel Misa, 6-3, 6-2; and John Kendrick Bona trounced Ethan Cablitas, 6-2, 6-1.

Those who won by walk over were Lervin Jaf Cunanan, Exequiel Jucutan, Matteo Rivas, Samuel Reane Nuguit, Brent So, and Joewyn Rey Pascua.

The first-round winners in the boys' 12-under category were Kena Noah Llira, Cyrus Barcinal, Juan Miguel Calanada, Gavin Kraut, Winnersome Borgonia, Reign Maravilla, Marcua Dimalaluan, and Jaime Rafael Reyes.

The Andrada Cup, now on its 30th year, is being held in honor of Col. Salvador Andrada, former president of the Philippine Tennis Association, honorary life president of the Asian Tennis Federation and former Philippine Sports Commission commissioner. (PNA)

Get the latest local government news daily from the most trusted sources. Be on the loop with current events happening in Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao and Metro Manila.