• 06/20/2019
  • 11:39 PM
League Online News


MANILA – Opposition Sen. Francis Pangilinan quits his post as the president of the Liberal Party (LP) after the party failed to win senate seats in the recent 2019 midterm-elections.


Pangilinan said he would vacate his position in the party on June 30.


“As campaign manager for the Otso Diretso slate, I was unable to ensure our victory in the elections and I, therefore, assume full responsibility for the outcome and hold myself primarily accountable for this defeat and have tendered my resignation as president of the LP effective June 30, 2019,” Pangilinan said.


The husband of Sharon Cuneta served as the campaign manager of Otso Diretso, whose eight candidates, including former Interior Secretary Mar Roxas and reelectionist Sen. Bam Aquino—two political figures shadowing the controversial former President Benigno Aquino III, were shut out of the so-called ‘Magic 12’ in the senatorial race.


Pangilinan has sent his letter of resignation to the LP chairperson, Vice President Leni Robredo.


Albay 1st District Rep. Edcel Lagman, an LP member, considers Pangilinan and Quezon City 6th District Representative Kit Belmonte’s resignation as LP secretary general, were acts of “courtesy” on the aftermath of the election.


Barry Gutierrez, Robredo’s spokesperson however, said that the Vice President turned down the resignation of the two.


The Commission on Elections (COMELEC) is yet to proclaim the winning senators pending the arrival of certificates of canvass from Saudi Arabia and Washington D.C.; and in the United States, amid in view of questions of possible irregularities in light of the seven-hour glitch after the polls, the breakdown of hundreds of vote counting machines, and the identification of over a thousand defective SD cards.


Reelectionist Sen. Cynthia Villar still holds the top spot of the senate race based on COMELEC’s partial and official tally on Tuesday morning. Eight of the 12 contenders in the winning circle are allies of the President Rodrigo Duterte’s administration.


No Otso Diretso representative made to the top 12 to secure the win.


Recently and without no count improvement, Aquino ranked 14th in the latest Comelec tally, over 300,000 votes short of grabbing Sen. Nancy Binay’s 12th spot. (with reports from Inquirer)

Get the latest local government news daily from the most trusted sources. Be on the loop with current events happening in Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao and Metro Manila