• 05/19/2019
  • 09:21 PM
League Online News


DAVAO CITY–Nine sister cities of Davao City have strengthen their ties with the City by bringing their various products to participate in the week-long first ever Sister Cities Trade Fair and Exhibit which was opened Friday (March 15) by Mayor Sara Duterte-Carpio at the activity center of SM Lanang Premier in line of this year’s 82nd Araw ng Davao celebration. 

Speaking before Consul Generals, city councilors, department heads, city mayors, and guests, Duterte said the fair recognized the value of creating partnership by bringing to the Davaoenos the best of the sister cities. 

“To showcase not only culture, products, and delicacies but the strong alliances built on good faith and mutual trust that the best partnerships and friendships will grow for the benefit of all parties involved, ” she said. 

Sister cities that are participating in the said fair are Kitakyushu City, which is found in the northernmost part of Kyushu Island in Japan.

It officially became Davao City’s sister city on November 28, 2017. It is known for its innovation on environmental planning.

Japan through the Japanese Consulate General that was established in 1920. After decades of continued friendship with the City it was re-established as a full-fledged Consulate General of Japan in Davao on January 1, 2019.

Indonesia established its consular office in Davao City on December 17, 1953. Due to trade expansion, it was raised to a Consulate General on September 23, 1974.
Chinese Consulate General. The Chinese Consulate General in Davao was inaugurated on October 28, 2018.

Nanning City is the capital of the Guang I Zhuang Autonomous Region China. In October 2007 it officially becomes a sister city of Davao City. It is known as the “green city” of China for its lush tropical landscape.

Jinjiang is a country level city situated in the southeastern part of Fujian province China. On November 15, 2018 Jinjiang became Davao’s second sister city from China.

San Juan city signed an agreement with Davao in October 2008 and was renewed on June 26, 2018. San Juan celebrates the Wattah Wattah Festival or Basaan fest. 
Quezon City is the first city in the Philippines to sign a sister city agreement with Davao City in October 1994 and was renewed on June 27, 2018. One of its popular landmarks is the Eastwood city walk of fame. 

The municipality of Liloan is situated in Cebu and on Oct. 22. 2018bit officially became a sister city of Davao. One of its popular products is the rosquillos. 
Marikina City is the third city in Metro Manila to sign a sister city agreement with Davao on June 27, 2018. Marikina is widely known as the shoe capital of the Philippines. 

Angeles City wherein the sister city agreement was signed on March 4, 2015. One of the popular landmarks in Angeles is the Pamintuan mansion built in 1890s.
“These cities have continued to help us for a better Davao City,” Duterte-Carpio said. 

Get the latest local government news daily from the most trusted sources. Be on the loop with current events happening in Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao and Metro Manila