• 07/19/2019
  • 03:49 AM
League Online News


Senior Superintendent Marcelo Morales, Police Regional Office-11 director (second from right), leads the site inspection of Rizal Park for the 122nd Rizal Day commemoration on Sunday in Davao City. (Photo courtesy of PRO-11)

DAVAO CITY -- More police and Task Force Davao personnel have been deployed here as high-level officials, led by President Rodrigo Duterte and Mayor Sara Z. Duterte, are expected to attend the 122nd Rizal Day commemoration on Sunday.

Senior Supt. Alexander Tagum, chief of the Davao City Police Office, said security forces will be deployed starting Saturday evening.

Although the city has been on double full alert, Tagum said security measures will be tighter as this will be the first time for a President to attend the commemoration of Rizal's martyrdom in Davao.

On Friday, Chief Supt. Marcelo Morales, Police Regional Office 11 (Davao Region) chief, led the coordination meeting and site assessment in preparation for the December 30 event.

Morales directed police units to implement the comprehensive security and traffic management schemes to ensure the safety of guests and the public who will flock to Rizal Park on Sunday.

He said the President will be joined by other national government officials and the chief of the Philippine National Police, Director General Oscar Albayalde.

“We are very honored that our President decided to celebrate the birth of our National Hero here in his hometown,” he said.

Morales also reminded the public that the city and the entire region remain on heightened alert with the influx of people and passengers at transport terminals for the holiday season.

He also ordered police across the region to be on the look-out for criminals, who might take advantage of the occasion, especially that the Communist Party of the Philippines-New People’s Army (CPP-NPA) has threatened to launch attacks. (PNA)

Get the latest local government news daily from the most trusted sources. Be on the loop with current events happening in Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao and Metro Manila.